Pastry Chef in Training

Pastry shops (called patisseries) all over France make meringues. Two days ago I made them too. I was inspired to make them when I found a handtool in our kitchen that can beat eggs into a froth. The tool has a long handle with a coiled, springy wire spiral on the end. I’ve never seen a tool like it before, and my mom and I can’t seem to find it in the stores. I found my recipe on multiple websites. I got the idea of what I needed from one site, and then I got the details from another one. There was a video about how to make them on BBCgoodfood.com. My meringues turned out pretty good. Half of them were perfect. They had a hardened outside, and when you tapped them on the underside they sounded hollow. But the rest of them were kind of undercooked. They were nice and crispy on the outside, but the insides stayed gooey and the bottoms stuck to the parchment paper. You want the meringue, when it’s cooling, to peel right off the paper. I used two different kinds of pans, a glass pan and a metal pan, and the ones on the metal pan turned out better. Eating an undercooked meringue is still really good, though, because the inside is soft, and awesome, and sticky, like a marshmellow, and sticks to your teeth. IMG_5542 WHAT YOU NEED -4 egg whites at room temperature  -a pinch of salt -one cup of caster sugar (200g) -half a teaspoon of vanilla essence WHAT YOU NEED TO DO Step 1: Preheat oven to 120 degrees C (that’s 248 F) Line two baking trays with non-stick baking paper. Step 2: Use an electric mixer to whisk egg whites and salt until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, a tablespoon at a time, whisking well between each addition until sugar is dissolved. Step 3: Whisk for another 3 minutes. Whisk in vanilla essence. Step 4: Use 2 teaspoons to scoop mixture onto the two trays, reduce oven temperature to 90 degrees C (that’s 194 F) Step 5: Bake for 1 hour and 30 minutes; turn oven off and leave meringues in oven to cool. Tip: Make sure you don’t add too much vanilla unless you like the lasting taste of vanilla in your mouth.

2 thoughts on “Pastry Chef in Training

    • tdenali says:

      thank you so much! I kept retrying the recipe and finely found that if you make them small they end up better in the end! even if it takes 3 or 4 to fill you up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

